Aa
A
A
A
Close
Pregnancy Community
72.4k Members

1st Pregnancy

I'm 19. Going to be 20 in June. Its my first pregnancy. I'm currently 7 1/2 weeks (May 12,2016) and I'm just wondering what I should do. My parents don't like the relationship I'm in so they aren't helping. Can anyone give me advice on what I should and should not be doing with this pregnancy ?! Anything would be really great
8 Responses
I'm 20 years old, and I'm preparing to be a single mom. When I found out, I was only 4 weeks pregnant. I immediately begin to take my vitamins and set up appointments. It's important that you take care of yourself and don't stress about your parents not liking your relationship or anything else. As time goes by they'll come around. Since you are so early on make sure you're focusing on taking care of yourself and eating right for your baby. Getting all the nutrients you need to keep your pregnancy healthy. I'm new to this myself and that's the best advice I can give so far. I'm 13 weeks and fours days as of today.
U should just stay focused,eat healthy and it doesnt matter your religion but prayer works too. If your not working start searching for a job to help finance you and your baby. trust me you'll be ok. Good luck
Look for help in your community. A lot of hospitals and non profits give free parenting classes and even rewards (like baby products) if you attend their classes. You can network their with other young moms and find breastfeeding support groups if that's something you might be interested in.
Mainly, figure out your health insurance and make sure you and baby are covered. Start taking prenatal vitamins, and talk things through with someone else whether it's parents, your partner or a friend.
You might be surprised at your parents change of heart when their grand child is born. A new baby brings a lot of love even if they don't agree with your relationship. Give your parents time, they might surprise you.
10977026 tn?1414365303