Aa
A
A
A
Close
Pregnancy Community
72.3k Members

Working while pregnant

I'm almost six weeks pregnant. I wanted to know is ok to work. I work as a waitress so I'm on my feet 8 to 9 hours out of the day. will this stress or hurt my baby? also I've been feeling extremely tired and I can't ever sleep at night, any advice?
10 Responses
Many women work up until they are 8 months pregnant,  just don't overdo it, you will be perfectly fine
Congrats on the baby news! !
I'm 36 weeks and still working! Also on my feet a lot and just met a waitress who was going to stop working at 38 weeks! Unless your doctor specifies otherwise or you have problems with your pregnancy, it's usually fine to work until labor! Just listen to your body (:
And for sleep, try tea, warm milk, a bath or anything to relax you before bed!
9961264 tn?1410876929
I work a full time job as a shift manager at a restaurant. It's hard and tiring  but as long as your eating and drinking plenty of water. ( and as long as your doctor says your okay) you should be perfectly fine. Take breaks when you feel the need. And stay hydrated are my 2 pieces of advice(:
You'll get better tips when you're pregnant :) as long as you are healthy and feel okay working I say keep at it,  as you get bigger though it'll be harder to keep your feet from swelling and your tummy from knocking into things.  
I worked until 39 weeks 2 days last day being on a Tuesday and had my daughter the next day
Im 26 weeks and had to stop because over my iron being so low i may have to have a blood transfusion if it gets any lower to which has been freaking me out cuz i take iron supplements and eat well. N also make me very sick, weak, and a number of other things. I think just listen to your body n youll know when its time to take it easy if it becomes to hard on you