Aa
A
A
A
Close
Pregnancy Community
72.3k Members

shots!

Yesterday afternoon my little man got his 6 month shots he was yelling like some one was murdering him. My eyes were watering lol Idk what Ima do when I have to watch my newborn get her shots.
6 Responses
I'm a pediatric nurse and I give about 60 vaccines a day, just remind yourself you are doing what's right for your baby... Many people don't realize it but outside of the USA (mainly in underdeveloped nations but even in some developed countries) diseases like pneumococcus (which your baby is vaccinated for) is one of the leading causes of death in children under 1 year.
Whenever my son had to get a shot as a baby, I picked him up the second the needle was out and latched him to my breast. He almost instantly calmed from the surprise and pain because of the comfort and familiarity of breastfeeding and never really learned that freaking out is the normal reaction because Mama never flinched either. At his three-year appointment he knew he was going to get a shot and told me he was going to think of something happy so he didn't get scared - and smiled at me through the injection. Maybe I'm just lucky but staying calm and offering a comforting distraction worked wonders in teaching him not to be afraid.
Omg girl im the same way when I took my newborn to get blood work done they kept squeezing her little foot and she was crying and I just couldnt take it no more I just wanted to grab her and run out of that place ot hurts sooooo bad to see my baby going trough pain ... Its hard but its for their own good .. Even though I hate it and it hurts me soo much as her mother .. Am I weird lol