Aa
A
A
A
Close
STDs Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

HIV question

Hello Dr. HHH.
  It has been six  months since my last visit and I had some concerns. The last time I wrote it concerned having unprotected sex quite a few times with a new partner. I am a 23 year old graduate student and I am female. Anyway, I took your advice and got tested 36 days after the event and it was negative. I also took your advice to use condoms the second time around. In November of 2005, I had sex with this person a total of five times between the 18-20th of Nov. Condoms were used, but one slipped after he pulled out. The others were utilized after two or three minutes of unprotection. Not smart. After this encounter I got sick five days later with a fever and sinus congestion. My sickness was gradual and on Dec. 30 I was hit with a really nasty upper respiratory virus. I had a runny nose, scratchy throat, nasty cough and headache. It lasted about two weeks. My lymp nodes were very swollen and tender especially in the groin. They were tender to the touch and sometimes burned. I got scared and contined to poke and prod around my abdomen, upper cest and rib cage. I even continued to poke my groin and thigh muscles. I may have caused unnecessary lymph enlargement. Anyway, In late January I began to experience muscle palpitations in both legs, tightness in the back, and numbess in the left foot. These symptoms come and go. Sometimes its in the one leg, and then it effects anotner area
My questions are:
1) I am coming up for my annual exam, should I get tested again.
2) Does this sound like neuropathy associates with HIV
3) Should I be hitting the panic button and plan my funeral
4) Have you encountered this problem with patients who turned out to be HIV-
5) Considering my use of condoms would that really lower my risk.
6) Am I overreacting and could this be assoaciated with my viral infection?