A
A
A
Close
Sensory Integration Disorder (SID) Community
49 Members

Advice for 504 for SID only

Hi,

My son is 5 and started kindergarten this year.  Academically he's doing fine, and socially he's dong fine.  His OT/homeopath is encouraging us to get a 504.  I'm a teacher and think that's a good thing.  We've talked with his teacher who is open to all sorts of accommodations, and does many already.  We just spoke with the OT and she pushed back on the 504 idea, especially with the fact that his only diagnosis is SID.

We're concerned as he's not completing work in school, using so much coping energy at school that he comes home a wreck, and isn't eating lunch because he's overstimulated.  We're worried about 1st grade and want to put a 504 in place now, so that the teachers need to work with us outside the goodness of their hearts.

Does anyone have any ideas about how to proceed, what strategies to take, what language to use, as we pursue a 504 with a sole SID diagnosis?

We've have the documentation from his first OT, and his current one did work in the school system for a short while.  We'll use that documentation, document his inability to focus at home afterschool, and we have written documentation of the teacher commenting on his difficulty completing work in class.

Thank you for your thoughts,
Tom
1 Responses
973741 tn?1342342773
COMMUNITY LEADER