A
A
A
Close
Smoking Addiction Community
1.25k Members
603452 tn?1253038747

Maybe tomorrow?

I am sitting here still not quite sure what to type.  I am ashamed.  Today my partner and I were supposed to quit smoking.  I had a full pack put away and was going to have it just sitting there, sealed, and I was not going to have any today.  The patch was going on first thing this morning.  He even laid them out last night for us.  He broke open the pack this morning just to have one before he left for work - he is out of town until thursday.  We decided now is a good time because he is going on a business trip with no other smokers and would have to walk off the property of the resort they are staying in, in order to have a cigarette.

We have tried to quit 3 times this year already.  Why is it always "maybe tomorrow".  

I have been smoking 5 - 10 cigarettes a day for a few years now.  I did quit back in '94 for over 2 years.  And is has been on again, off again since I was 16.  I am now 32.  

I have had great success with other communities on this website.  I figured this would be a great place to come for support.  I am going to quit this time..... maybe tomorrrow?
12 Responses
326505 tn?1304169225
There is absolutely nothing to be ashamed of. We have all been in your shoes and eventually it will happen.
I have had great success with Chantix and cramming my brain with the articles in Joel's library at whyquit.com
I suggest you read to prepare for your quit and keep on reading throughout. I still go back to it now and then.

There is no magic......you have to want it and just fight the urges. The physical withdrawals only last 3 days so it is more the emotional addiction that you really need to prepare for. As for tomorrow......that is a good idea : )
Surround yourself with positive people, avoid the smokers and keep some lollipops, toothpicks, lozenges, whatever will keep your mouth busy. I personally think you should keep your hands busy too.