Aa
A
A
A
Close
Smoking Addiction Community
1.25k Members

Nicorette Addiction

I've been chewing Nicorette for about ten years. I chew between nine and eleven pieces of the 2mg a day. What are the harmful effects of the gum (beside, obvious addiction). And, do you have any suggestions as to how to get off the gum?
145 Responses
Not really any `toxic` effects to worry about,yet,unless you start chewing like about 50mg a day.I think you should get some normal chewing gum and every now and then have one instead,do it really slowly,but just try to get in the habit of taking a non nicotine chewy when you can,gradually you will swap over to the nico free chewing gum,but you may end up chewing for life,and this can lead to decreased tooth cavities,not such a bad thing really.
Their are pills that reduce nicotine craving,but your problem was originally smoking and the carcinogenic substances in tobacco smoke like tar,nickel carbonyl and others,also carbon monoxide is not good for your red blood cells oxygen carrying capacity.The pills are a bit suspicious,as they are Psychoactive and possibly worse than the gum(Nicotine).Of course you know Nicotine is a poison,with no known medicinal use.Should be Shedule 1 but the Govt aint got the balls,money talks,you know the rest.
I was addicted to Nicorette 2mg. for about 2-1/2 years...however, I chewed 24 pieces a day!!! WAY too many.

I just wanted to warn you that I have a swallowing disorder now.
I was chewing sooooo much, (a lot more than you), that the
constant nicotine draining down my throat caused me all sorts
of esophagus problems.

Just watch yourself, living without being able to eat right really sucks!

P.S. I finally got off the gum by using the patch?!?!?!

Emblie