Aa
A
A
A
Close
Stress Community
1.38k Members

Job Interview stress-PLEASE HELP

I am a 34 year old teacher and have been on a job search for a full-time teaching position for a year now.  I am struggling with anxiety caused by the stress of the interviews.  FIrst I will set up the scenario.  These are panel interviews from 5-12 people on the panel.  The ask you questions that you need to give concrete examples of related to to teaching, like, strategies, classroom management, philosophy and some question are pretty random, ie. laws that have implemented that have effected you as a teacher.
What happens to me.
1.  Even before the interview I start to devalue myself as a teacher, saying to myself that I am not good enough, that there is so much competition, and that I'll never get the job
2.  Then I can't relax I am so wound up I start to fidget.
3.  SOmetimes when they ask me a question I draw a blank
4.  I start to forget the panel's names.  
5.  I loose my articulateness and forget things I know
I do prepare for these interviews BUT sometimes they can catch you off guard with different questions that you wouldn't expect.
For each position you get a print out of what they are looking for .  I really take the time to go into the interview prepared.  Somethings I don't feel I am so well versed in maybe because I haven't worked with it so much and at times I feel like I have to make up or say what I know which is sorta a rough idea of the concept and answer on the spot because we should know it as teachers.  I have been teaching part-time for one year and then subbed the year before.  I REALLY badly need a full-time job apart from the fact that I love my profession.  I feel like I come into the interview with a timid manner which is counterproductive as I know I am a great teacher,  how can I improve this image that I project ????
Any words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated.  THANK YOU !

2 Responses
from mjgb6
Hi