Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close
1520550 tn?1291062449

Antithyroglobulin AB Level of 19070??

Hi, I am new to MedHelp and I signed up because I feel really worried about the lab results I received today. I am a 20 year old female, and I got my lab results at my endocronologist appt today. It says that my:

TSH is .212 and low (range of .450-4.5),
TPO Ab is 248 and high (range of 0-34),
Thyroglobulin, Qn is <0.5 and low
Antithyroglobulin Ab is 19070 and high (range of 0-40) Verified by repeat analysis

My dr. told me that the high number of antithyroglobulin ab was from my antibodies attacking my thyroid gland. I already have been diagnosed with hypothyroidism due to cysts on my thyroid gland and am on synthroid 150.

But my mom has an autoimmune disease, doctors think maybe lupus and definitely mixed connective tissue disorder, so she has Hashimoto's as a result. Could this be what I have as well? Or what else can cause these levels on the tests be indicators of? I'm really worried that these could prevent me from being able to have children in the near future because the sites I look at say infertility could occur. Please give any insight you can, I would truly appreciate it. :(
19 Responses
Your antibodies that high definitely mean Hoshimotos. I have it. Usually it comes and goes, mine does not. I really need the higher dose and have trouble getting the Dr. to give it to me. You definetly  need to get that under control before you have children. I did not watch it and my 3rd child was born with a hairlip. I was told that probably did it. It is hard to control.
I agree that your elevated antibodies indicate that you have Hashi's.

Is your doctor testing free T3 and free T4 as well as TSH?  It's the FT3 and FT4 levels that must be used to regulate your dose, not TSH alone.