Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

My thyroid is confusing the heck out of me!!!

This is my first time on such a forum but I am so concerned and confused and could use some advice. At the end of May I found a lump in my neck.  Ultrasound revealed a thyroid that was normal in size and appearance but an isoechoic nodule in the upper left pole 1.2 X1.0x1.4 (this is what I could feel) PLUS two smaller benign looking nodules on right pole (both less that 1cm). The recommendation was to repeat ultrasound in three to six months versus FNA. I did not Want to mess about so elected to have the FNA. just my luck the results were indefinite......wording along the lines of "predominantly benign with focal cytological and architectural atypia and slightly increased number of microfollicles.....conclusion was Atypia of undetermined significance. So this sent me back to my doctor for more tests etc.  I have since had TSH and T3 and  T4 tested plus thyroid antibodies (TG and TPO). In addition I have been really tired, trouble losing weight and brittle nails and dry thinning hair. However, the blood tests have confused me even more. TSH and T3 and T4 were within normal range but antibodies very high (TG was 149 and TPO was >1300) and pathologist concluding autoimmune thyroid disease on the report.  But FNA and ultrasound do not seem to confirm this yet I feel so crap.  I am just really confused and trying to work through possibility of thyroid cancer versus Hashimotos versus nothing at all.  Each test seems to be telling me a different story.  Any advice or help anyone can offer would be appreciated.  I am due to see an Endo in two days but want to try and have a clearer picture before then.
5 Responses
649848 tn?1534633700
COMMUNITY LEADER