A
A
A
Close
Thyroid Disorders Community
26k Members

Totally Lost and need help please

Hi Everyone!

This is my first time posting to this group. I was hoping to get some clearer answers and/or clarification for what's going on with me.

I was diagnosed a year ago (May 2013) with hypothyroidism by a non-Endocrinologist even though my results came back in the low normal range. I was initially put on 30 mg of Armour Thyroid at that time and have remained on this dose for approximately 10 months before it was increased to 60 mg this past March.

I am SO confused because my lab results are all over the place (I get tested every 8 weeks). My doctor (a Lyme Literate MD) is confusing me because his explanation of what's going on seems to contradict my results (even though what he says makes sense).

For example, he said results on the lower end (tsh, t3, t4) indicates I'm not getting enough of the hormone which means I need to increase my Armour Thyroid, which we did. HOWEVER, at the time of the test we were reviewing he had already increased my Armour Thyroid from 30 mg to 60 mg which appears to me, threw everything out of whack.

These were my results:

Armour Thyroid *60* mg

TSH: 3.00 Reference Range: 0.40 - 4.50

T4 Total: 4.0 L Reference Range: 4.5 - 12.0

Free T4 Index: 1.2 L Reference Range: 1.4 - 3.8

T4, Free: 0.7 L Reference Range: 0.8 - 1.8

T3, Free: 3.1 Reference Range: 2.3 - 4.2

T3, Total: 99 Reference Range: 76 - 181

T3 Uptake: 30 Reference Range: 22 - 35

vs

Armour Thyroid *30* mg

TSH: 2.07

T4 Total: 6.9

Free T4 Index: 1.9

T4, Free: 1.0

T3, Free: 2.9

T3, Total: 96

T3 Uptake: 28

vs

No thyroid med ~~~> Most Recent Results

TSH: 1.85

T4 Total: 5.7

Free T4 Index: 1.8

T4, Free: 1.1

T3, Free: 2.6

T3, Total: 70 L ~~~> Doc says I need to start back on Armour 60 mg!

T3 Uptake: 31

****Reference Range listed under 60 mg is the same for the others****

So....