Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close
644221 tn?1223441263

What am I in for?

Hey All, Im new to this forum. Im Ashley, Im 24 years old, and I live in Tennessee.  I was just recently diagnosed with hypothyroidism on 9/29.  This was diagnosed through blood work and a thyroid ultrasound.  I was then scheduled to have a Radioactive Iodine Test and CT Scan of my thyroid done.  The results from there were this = "Thyromegaly with Multiple Cysts in Both Lobes".  I have now been referred to a surgeon and I see him this Friday (10/10).  I guess what Im asking is am I pretty destined for surgery? Which I mean it doesnt bother me because it seems like if it possibly could be cancer and I have them on both sides then why not get rid of them ya know. Ive had cervical pre-cancer and I definately dont want to go through that again. I dont know just grasping for advice at this point.  Im extremely new to all this and just going on what the doctors say. Also, is surgery ever done without having an FNA first and just going off the scans and ultrasounds? Thanks so much for listening!
11 Responses
440728 tn?1234645302
Hi, Unfortunately your questions are a bit complex for me I've only been on this forum for a year and am learning all the time. But I just wanted to say welcome and I know what it feels like to be new to all this stuff. And once the more experienced ones here see your post they will definately give you all the advice you need.
534785 tn?1329592208
Hi, and welcome!