Aa
A
A
A
Close
Undiagnosed Symptoms Community
25.1k Members

Undiagnosed or Misdiagnosed

I am a 39 year old Native American. I am a veteran of the US Army and I currently am being treated at the Veterans Affairs Medical Center in California and a nearby Air Force base. My smptoms I believe occured in 2004 to 2005, and unbeknownst to myself and probably the physicians treating me never were sought out as an actual condition. I have a history of tonsillitis, bronchitis, and uris. In 2004, a cervical lymph node on the left side of my neck developed, and the node has grown in size over the years.I have had a few issues where the node presented pain and would swell up even more than normal. This occured this past February, I woke up one morning and the node was swollen and very painful, the pain radiated to my neck and I had the feeling of being extremely fatigued and very hot internally. I went to the vamc, and attempted to be seen in their urgent care, after a 4 hour wait, the doctor told me he could do nothing for me except order a ct scan, and visit my primary doctor. (they are not so cooperative there) anyway, i visited my doctor the following week, and she checked all the normal lymph node sites. she referred me to the ENT clinic. I saw the the ENT doctor 3 wks later, he seemed unconcerned, checked my throat and nose, discovered hyperplasia and asked me about sleeping problems. I explained that my last doctor stated I may have sleep apnea, because of the difficulty I have sleeping on my back. He referred me to a sleep lab, and told me he would see me at his hospital to have a biopsy done of the node, he was going to remove it altogether. Unfortunately, because of the constant cancellation and rescheduling of my appts, I was not finally seen until May 13th, and in all actuality the secretary did not schedule enough time to even do the biopsy, so the doctor sent me to pathology to have a fine needle aspiration instead. I was hoping a phone call back in a few days, b