Aa
A
A
A
Close
Weight Loss Alternatives Community
7.23k Members

Zoloft

Hello. I have been working to get down to my ideal weight for several months now, and I am doing very well. However, my doctor prescribed me Zoloft today to treat my anxiety, and even though I addressed the issue of weight gain with her and she told me that I would need to watch my carbs and exercise consistently, I am quite worried about gaining back the weight I've lost (almost 20 lbs). Does anyone have any personal stories that can help me with the dilemma of taking or not taking the medication?
63 Responses
It all comes down to calories in vs. calories out.  Continue to monitor your food intake as you've been doing and exercise regularly.
I understand that, but zoloft lowers your metabolism and changes the metabolism of carbohydrates from what I have found in looking it up. I'm just wondering if anybody has been on it, and if so, what happened in the case of weight loss or gain, and what habits changed or stayed the same that may have allowed the medication to cause the effects.
I was on Zoloft for awhile.  It actually made me lose my appetite, so I ending up losing about 20-25lbs. while on it.  It all depends on your body chemistry and how the drug will react.  There's a few other people i know that lost weight while on the meds.  Good luck.
I have been taking zoloft for almost four years now.  Boy!! did I gain a ton of weight.  I coudn't take it off no matter what I do.  A few months ago, I stopped taking the drug and actually saw a weight loss so I know that it was the drugs that were making me gain weight.  Unfortunately, I have recently had to start taking them again.  Incidently, I gained all the weight again.  I guess you have to just decide if you'd rather be a thin, sad person or a happy, fat person.