Aa
A
A
A
Close
Women's Health: Postpartum Community
26.1k Members

Can someone tell me if there are any effects on the fetus if the father is a habitual marijuana smoker?

Hi all. well it turns out my life has just completely changed in the last week.  I am a 34 yr old professional who was with a man for 2 yrs.  Several months after dating, my bf found out he has HepC (as per the tests he apparently caught this many years ago), which caused a lot of concern and trips to the doctor. He has stopped any type of alchohol comsumption but smokes weed (probably like a few drags) before he goes to sleep.  It has been of concern because he apparently has smoked weed for over 30 yrs (he's 51). Anyway, we wanted to start a family and back in October we did get pregnant but I ended having a miscarriage at 7 weeks.   Over the past months we've had trust issues and the relationship seemed to have taken a turn to the worse.. I found out things that he may have been doing, stories that change, he also seems to be very irritable and unwilling to talk when confronted.  We broke up last week and found out I am pregnant.  I am concerned because I recall that the possible day of conception, he smoked and I drank two glasses of red wine and took one hit of weed (by hookah?).. I don't normally smoke weed but I did that day.  I seem to be around 6 weeks along (although in my calculation it is exactly date of conception 4 weeks).  I am afraid that I may have hurt my baby. If this is a viable pregnancy would the baby be ok? This would be a second child after 16 yrs.  I was married before very young and ended up raising my child alone.  This time around I am terrified to do it, although I have done it before and with less financial resources.  I own my home and have a decent job.  Nonetheless, I don't know if he will come around.  
2 Responses
134578 tn?1546634665