Aa
A
A
A
Close
Women's Health: Postpartum Community
26.1k Members

IUD and very light period

I have an IUD and have had it for about 1 year.  I supposedly started my period (accompanied with the usual cramping) on 5/9.  However, it is extremely light - only filling 1/2 of a regular-sized tampon per day.  This is my second IUD (the first I had for 5 years), and I have never experienced a light period.  I have always had periods lasting a minimum of 7 days, and up to 10 days some months.

I am very concerned that I may be pregnant.  I have not had any other signs of pregnancy (which I have experienced before, because I have 2 children).

I am still breastfeeding my youngest (16 months) two times per day, but have had normal periods for 8 months.  The only other thing I can think of is my exercise program, but I have been doing that consistently now for 4 months, and it has not affected me this way before.  Does eating habits have anything to do with this?  I am eating normally, but less than before (trying to cut down bit by bit).
11 Responses
114123 tn?1289630070
I was desperate for bc last year and wanted the merena, but dh is very pro-life and so I got stuck with temping, and he doesn't want the big 'V' just in case later we decide we want more. It drives me crazy that every birth control chances fertilization without implantation, in the pro-lifes eyes-an abortion...everyone around me feels this way...whats a girl to do?
93532 tn?1349374050
Honestly, it is your decision, not any one elses decision. Some would consider temping as a form of contraception, not allowing nature to takes its course by avoiding having intercourse around the time of ovulation. Truly leaving it up to your chosen god, you would have sex whenever without temping, charting, etc.