Aa
A
A
A
Close
Women's Health: Postpartum Community
26.1k Members

Travelling at 5wks pregnant, worried about m/c

Hello all Moms and Moms to be! I am very new to this game, just found out a few days ago that I was pregnant! We are thrilled and excited, but I am also a bit hesitant as I have a holiday coming up that I had booked 6 months ago.

Here's all my info - just looking for advice/reassurance/pointers!

I am from Canada, so my first ultrasound won't be until 10-12 weeks. I had my pregnancy confirmed by my GP yesterday, with a urine test. No hcg levels or blood tests done. Prior to this I had taken two home pregnancy tests after being 3-4 days late for my period - both were positive almost instantly. I have had mild cramping, some gas and bloating, the odd headache and a teeny bit of heartburn. Just today I felt a bit queasy - but no nausea or food aversions so far. Can definitely feel a bit of a 'pressure' in my lower abdomen, but maybe that's all in my head!

Dr gave me a date of 5 weeks tomorrow (Nov 2) as my last period was Sept30-Oct 4. That would make it only 3 weeks fetal, correct? Not sure if that matters.