A
A
A
Close
Women's Health: Postpartum Community
26.1k Members
250155 tn?1485295939

medical info

does anyone know of a way to research medical information on the internet (that's still free) other than just googling it?  i'm not really good at doing this and i just get of bunch of stuff that doesn't pertain to what i'm trying to find when i use google.  
15 Responses
13167 tn?1327194124
kennedy,  it's really important that you choose your google words carefully.  It's kind of a learned skill - picking search terms.  Do you want to describe your symptoms and we can help you google?
250155 tn?1485295939
i've always figured that was what my problem was w/ google!  :)  i pretty much just google exactly how i would word a question i'm thinking of!

i'm trying to find information on cases of siblings both with hyperinsulinism.  and a few other questions about it, too.

our youngest was born w/ it but it was cured by a partial pancreatectomy when she was 4 1/2 months old.  at that time they told us (at CHOP) that they had never seen a case of siblings of the same family w/ it.  well, we are about to deliver in 11 days and now my mind is just wondering all over the place and i have tons of questions and i'm waiting on them to call me back, too.

a couple other questions i have on this also are some things that maybe even some ladies on here might have an answer to...

like...  is an 8 hour fasting test too much for a 2-3 day old infant?  i know they have to push it, but that's just really scary to me.

also, is it ok for a 2-3 day old infant to be drinking 1/4 normal saline water instead of breastmilk?  again, i know its for medical reasons but i'm still scared!

thank you for offering to help me w/ my inferior internet skills, lol!!!!!!!!!!!  :)  i appreciate any help!!!!!!  :)

jen
93532 tn?1349370450
I would search { "hyperinsulinism" AND "siblings" }