Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Dealing with OVCA Dx

I guess this is a question for the 1% club.  To those of you who are dealing with ovca, how do you handle living day to day with this diagnosis hanging over your head?  I confess to being extremely anxious as I was receiving treatment and still have problems with it even 6 months out from treatment.  I think my anxiety stems from my nursing background, having a little bit of knowledge can sometimes work against you.  The other issue was that I cared for my terminally ill mother who passed away from colon cancer a year before I was diagnosed.  That was hard enough in itself; little did I know that soon I would be dealing with my own illness.

I'm in awe of many of you ladies and have received so much encouragement from you as I read your posts.  It comforts me to know that you can have a real life while living with this disease.  I'm still pretty new to this so I'm learning how to cope everyday.  Please share your thoughts.
7 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
Hang in there. Even now having gone through my first recurrence, I am looking forward to the summer and hoping for a  better outcome this time. The good thing that has come out of this is my closeness to my family has never been better and I am able to go and see them whenever I want. I had always worked so much. I only wish now that they did not work so hard!
I always say I feel really good if it wasn't for those darn Oncolgists making us sick!! I must say that when I was done with first treatment I really did not worry about it coming back  and I am going to try and feel the same way this time! I Pray that you gals have beat this and moved on!!
Helpful - 0