Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Cycle of cold, bronchitis and laryngitis

Interacting with people totally exhausts me!  I tend to get a minor cold three or four times a year.  About three or four days later I will develop bronchitis, followed by a laryngitis and perhaps a minor sore throat.  I will have coughing spasms in which I gag and cough for several minutes, at times spitting up yellow mucus.  Incontinence is common during these coughing spells.  I have no trouble breathing; I am a non-smoker.  But the major symptom is extreme fatigue.  These periods of ill-health tend to last at least two months where I will get a month's reprieve and then the cycle begins again.  I am a retired teacher and I feel part of the problem might be a "damaged" larynx as the mucus seems to stick to my voice box.  By the way, I also take medication for hypothyroidism.  I do feel better if I do not interact with people - either in person or on the telephone.  My doctor says it is viral bronchitis with no medication to help me.  This "cycle" has been going on for about 10 years.  Is there any hope?
3 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
A related discussion, Chronic Bronchitis was started.
Helpful - 0
251132 tn?1198078822
MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL
You should have an exam of both your lower and your upper respiratory tract.  This would include a laryngoscopy.  This procedure is done using a small camera at the end of a flexible tube, called a fiberoptic laryngoscope.  During this procedure your vocal cords and the upper part of your windpipe can be examined.  You also need a thorough evaluation for fatigue.  You might consider seeking a second opinion.