Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

LUQ gas problem - very frustrated

If anyone has a similar experience, PLEASE respond as I have had this problem for years and have not found any help in the medical establishment.  Symptoms are as follows, left upper quadrant gas bubbles that seem to get stuck there. I can actually feel them and push them around when I lie down flat.  When I crouch down or constrict my stomach, I have felt an alteration in my heartbeat because the bubbles seem to push up into my chest, it resolves when I stand up. This is the frightening part and is affecting my quality of life.  I have been to multiple MDs. Cardiologist diagnosed mitral valve prolapse, gastro diagnosed IBS, upper GI and gall bladder ultrasound were negative. True, I do have MVP and MAY have IBS, but neither is the cause of the gas bubble problem, but rather may be aggravated by it.  Since I am a nurse, I looked to the med community for an answer, but I am now turning to the internet in trying to solve the problem myself. There may be someone out there who is in the same boat and I would love to hear from you.
3 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
Hi Patrice 13,

Your prob sounds a lot like mine.  Since I kept calling it a "gas bubble" or "ball stuck-in-there", I felt that the docs didn't believe it was anything more serious than gas.  Ha!  This "thing" was causing serious pain & during a "flare-up" I'm not able to do much of anything - except suffer.  Nothing helps.  

The "bubble or ball" is there all of the time, as if it's stuck.  Sometimes it even seems to spasm.  The "ball" resides in my Left Upper Quadrant, under my left breast & inside my ribcage.  I feel the largeness or pressure from it through my upper chest & upper abs - right thru to my back.  The doctors seem to think there is nothing there except intestines, so it MUST be IBS.  (I refused to accept that because this wasn't affecting my bowels)  Yet, they still said 'IBS'.