Back & Neck Community
pain only when i don't work
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to back and neck problems, exercise, pain, sleeping, and physical therapy.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

pain only when i don't work

I'm a 28 year old female, and have been experiencing back pain only on my days off, and only while sleeping.  I work in manufacturing and packing, and I'm on my feet at work for 10 hours a day.  I work nights, so I'm getting home around 2am, but I have no back pain when I wake up, I sleep for about 8-9 hours on the nights that I work.  But on my days off, without fail, I wake up with severe back pain, making it hard to walk, yet alone breathe.  I'm 5'9", and roughly 190lbs...I bought a new serta pillow top mattress last year, but this pain seems to have started roughly about the same time I started working nights (I used to work day shift, and I can't remember having this pain during my days off when I worked the day shift). This is all very confusing to me.  Why would changing your shifts cause back pain? My back doesn't hurt while I'm at work, or even after work...Is there some way that my muscles could be over relaxing on my days off? I have 3 small kids at home, so it's not like i'm sitting on my duff all day long on my days off...just looking for some insight...hopefully someone has some ideas.
Related Discussions
1517572_tn?1290800018