Breast Cancer: Stage 3 & 4 Community
What now?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast cancer, biopsy, genetics, chemotherapy, hormone therapy, lumps, lumpectomy, lymph node dissection, lymphedema, mammograms, mastectomy, radiation therapy, reconstruction, self exams, and stage 3 and 4 treatments.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

What now?

I was diagnosed with Breast cancer stage 4 with mets to bones, lung and central chest in Dec of 2007; I have been doing chemo for the last almost 3 yrs along with the avastin;  we have cleared the chest and the lung and the right breast;  we have stabilized 7 of the 9 spots in the bones;  I now have 2 hot spots left after doing a bone scan;  we will continue the arimidex and the doxil for another month after which we will try something else.  I thought adreamyacin and doxorubicin were the 2 best drugs around for fighting this cancer and I have used both of them;  What do you think we will try next?
Related Discussions
5 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
492898_tn?1222247198
Dear Debb, do you really think anyone of us would know better than your oncologist what he/he and you, will try next? And if he doesn't know and you don't know, then how can we possibly even begin to guess? It also depends on what you can tolerate, and some chemo may work for one patient and not another, and one cancer but not all of the places the cancer has spread to, it's really a lot trial and error in cancer treatment.

I also have stage 4 bc, and was first diagnosed around the same time as you. Some treatments worked better than others, and some I could not tolerate, and according to one doctor I should be dead, but I feel good but my tumor markers are just now beginning to go up again, and I also have no clue, even less than you, what's next. Katrin
Blank
739091_tn?1300669627
Debb,