Head & Traumatic Brain Injury Community
Head trauma causes loss of smell/taste
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to Head & Traumatic Brain Injuries.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank
201 Comments Post a Comment
Viewing 201-204 comments:
Blank
Just wondered if your smell and taste have come back?
I had a bi-frontal craniotomy 18 months ago, obviously in a coma I wasn't eating so defiantly couldn't taste anything then,  can't remember tasting the food in hospital (probably a good thing). When I went to to rehab everything I ate or drank tasted of pizza, that  went on for about a month, then my girlfriend bought me some lovely chocolates which changed the continuous pizza taste to a continuous chocolate taste, sounds good but really not. I went through that for 5 months and now I can't taste a thing no matter how spicy, hot or sweet. I can not smell anything either.  This is a huge pain as I was a chef and loved food.

I spoke to my neurosurgeon recently and she said that it's sad that I have lost these senses, but as she had to remove part of my left frontal lobe that this was a unfortunate consequence, she also said that if I did not got the senses back in the first 6 months I am unlikely to ever get them back.

I hope that you are back with those wonderful flavours and those awful smells.  As I hope to be one day.
Blank