Head & Traumatic Brain Injury Community
Long Term Effects of Arachnoid cysts on memory and mood
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to Head & Traumatic Brain Injuries.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Long Term Effects of Arachnoid cysts on memory and mood

I am a 47 yo engineering professional and I had an arachnoid cyst (14 cm x 5 cm x 2.5 cm) that was diagnosed in Jan that was addressed 3/28 with a Ventricular Peritoneal Shunt.  The shunt drained the cyst completely and collapsed the top of my brain into the area where the cyst used to reside.  The collapse of the top of the brain into the cyst area caused bleeding that had to be drained during an operation 6/1.  The doctor also closed the valve in the shunt to allow for the CSF to build back up in my brain.  The shunt will be turned back on when the brain tissue is back in place and the cranial pressure is at a desired level.  I gave all this background to ask if this whole process (which actually started when I was born with this cyst) could actually cause memory and mood issues.  I have always had a bad short term memory that has been getting apparently worse over the past 4-5 years.  In addition, my wife states (and my children agree) that my mood switches very quickly and I lose my temper very easily.  I had always been a laid back and relaxed person.  I realize that this is no longer the case and I am realizing that this change is very real.  My Neurologist and neurologists in general state that memory and mood effects are not considered symptoms of these types of cysts.  Is there anyone who has any experience with this issue and has an opinion or advice?      
2 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
I am 19 years old and have finally realized that I should know more about my cyst, I have being doing research and asking my parents everything they know about the cyst I had at birth.