Medullary Sponge Kidney Disease (MSK) Community
20 years old. Just diagnosed.
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to Medullary Sponge Kidney Disease (MSK).

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

20 years old. Just diagnosed.

Hi,

I am a 20 year old male who was just diagnosed with MSK.  I am currently dealing with the pain of an 8mm stone.  It's the worst pain I've ever had to deal with in my life.  I'm an student away at college, so this is especially difficult for me.  Can anyone give me any pointers on dealing with this?  I'm having a miserable time.  I assume diet will help, but don't know what to eat/drink and what not to eat/drink.  Please, I'd really appreciate any input.

Thank you,
Liam
Tags: MSK, misdiagnosed, Pain, 20 years old
Related Discussions
5 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
Hey,

Two years ago, I was in the exact same situation. I was 20 and away at college when I was diagnosed with MSK as well as my first kidney stone. It took me 6 days to pass it, and I was prescribed Lortab 750s to be taken every four hours. I really hate the effects of pain pills, so I only took them about every 7 or 8 hours. As far as diet, I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but it really depends on the individual. For me, it was water and chicken noodle soup. I was literally unable to keep any food down, so I chose soup because I knew it would be easier when it came back up. I was forcing myself to drink as much water as possible.

The hours or days it takes to pass the entirely pass the stone are awful, but the "passing" of the stone that we men seem to cringe just thinking about is not awful. Upon "passing" the stone, you should be able to expect pain relief within twelve hours. For me, I was back to normal the next day (passed the stone at night just before going to bed).