Neurology Community
schizophrenia
About This Community:

This forum is for questions and support regarding neurology issues such as: Alzheimer's Disease, ALS, Autism, Brain Cancer, Cerebral Palsy, Chronic Pain, Epilepsy, Headaches, MS, Neuralgia, Neuropathy, Parkinson's Disease, RSD, Sleep Disorders, Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

schizophrenia

My son is schizophrenic - I am a retired physician and have done alot of research since his diagnosis  a yr ago - it seems that treatment with presciption meds like the antipsychotics do little to help cognitive symptoms - his psychiatrist hasn't brought up any other treatments although when I brought up omega 3s he reluctantly said he liked omega brite - wh I like alot after looking at their website. I find there is some evidence that pregnenolone, n-acetyl carnitine, statins , antivirals like valtrex ( my son gets horrible fever blisters), minocycline ( ok for acne but not okto try even if unproven for schiophrenia?),Posit science, exercise - all may be beneficial - maybe - if we wait for the final results of any of these studies it will be too late to benefit my son - he is 15 and really is "prodromal" or "high risk" - when I look at the risks vs benefits of some of these  it sure seems worth a try to me . It actually is feeling somewhat unethical to not offer some of this information to families when facing this devestating disease when there are no good treatments available. Are there psychiatrists out there willing to advise about some of these potentially helpfull treatments? I find they re often willing to prescribe offlabel with some of the prescription meds h as far as I can tell treat only positive symptoms. Any opinions about these potential treatments would be appreciated - I understand there is no "proof" they work - My question is really what would you do if your son was 15 and in the prodromal stage of schizophrenia? Also I don't understand why if