Occupational Safety & Health Expert Forum
Recurring chest pain from construction dust
About This Forum:

This forum is for questions and support regarding Occupational Safety & Health questions pertaining to: Blood Borne Exposures (Needle sticks), Chemical Safety-Spills-Exposure, Confined Spaces, Corporate Planning, Ergonomics, Fire Safety-Exposure, Industrial Hygiene, Hazard Communication, Hazardous Material Handling and Shipping, Health and Productivity Management, Indoor Air Quality, Injuries in the workplace, Noise-induced hearing loss, Nanotechnology and your health, Occupational Asthma , Pandemic Influenza (“FLU”), Personal Protective Equipment, Risk Communication, Safe Lifting Techniques, Workers compensation

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Recurring chest pain from construction dust

I am a 55 year old carpenter who has remodeled homes on and off for the last 25 years. but not on a daily basis. In 2001 I visited the world trade center site  breathed in a large amount of the white dust that was covering everything. my chest burned right in the center of my chest for 3 weeks. After that, whenever I breathed dust my chest would hurt right in the exact same spot - about 2 square inches 6 inches down from my adam's apple and slightly right of center. The pain would usually go away in a day especially as I would eat a carrot, drink some water and go for a jog as I was living pretty healthily  otherwise. In 2009  I was scraping a water damaged ceiling from a an old bathroom leak in the floor above and immediately I had the pain in the same spot again. However this time instead of quickly subsiding it actually seemed to grow and worsen. I became pretty scared and depressed, lost weight and became convinced by number was up. I had the dust tested for asbestos but it was negative.in the months and years that followed I remember it felt like my chest was somehow hardening and I could actually sort of get it to crack with stretching. My inte