A
A
A
Close
Women's Health: Postpartum Community
26.1k Members
175317 tn?1256856921

Cats and Pregnancy....

I am 29 years old and am 15 weeks pregnant with my first baby.  I have a cat who is like a son to me.  I know that I am not to clean the litter (my husband is doing that).  But at night, my cat has been extra affectionate with me.  I think he can tell I have been stressed.  I had a doctor's appointment, and at the last meeting my doctor said all blood tests looked good, but I  had an abnormal pap (abnormal cells).  They tested the cells and it came back that I had HPV.  I am still learning what the heck this all means (yes I've seen all the ads on tv about it, and etc. etc.)  Anyhow, my doctor says it is a high risk strain, but nothing to worry about.  She says it will not harm the baby or me, because it is very early on we saw it (my last normal pap was less than a year ago).  She also says 80% of all people who have had sex have it.  So, I'm having a copolscopy for that.  ANYHOW, back to my original question.  Do I have to worry, because my cat has been extra concerned and sleeping on my head.  I noticed last night there was some litter left on my pillow.  I saw the doctor today, and she said nothing to worry too much about, but gave me a blood test for toxoplsmosis as well as the test I was there for which is to test for risk for Downs Syndrome (I guess they do this test at weeks 15-18).  My cat is an indoor-only cat, so that apparently lowers the risk as well.  Anyone who has any answers about any of this?  
9 Responses
If you have had your cat for a while.. then I wouldnt worry about it.  If your cat has the toxo thingie.. then you have already been exposed to it. I just wouldnt recommend adding a new cat to the house.
175317 tn?1256856921
I have had my cat for 6 years, but my watched my neighbors cats while they were gone for three days.  Do you think that one is anything to worry about?