Aa
A
A
A
Close
Women's Health: Postpartum Community
26.1k Members

Red raspberry tea

I was told that if you drink red raspberry tea it could help you to go into labor. I am due any day now, and just wanted to help speed up the process. I bought some tea at the grocery store, but it is called red raspberry herb tea. Is this the right kind, or do you have to buy the actual leaves at a health food store? I was just wondering if what I am drinking is doing any good! Please let me know if you have any info on this subject! Thanks!
7 Responses
Hello,
I have never heard of red rasberry to help you go into labor and I have been studying herbs for over ten years. However, it is very good for the uterus and brings a lot of vitamins to the placenta.
Dechen
not red raspberry tea raspberry leaf tea totally 2 different things no it wont make you go into labour unless your ready be patient it will happen howevr using a breastpump may help.
No, red raspberry leaf will not make you go into labor.  What it does is strengthen and tone the uterus to make a more productive labor (ie: faster and less painful).  The earlier in pregnancy that you start to drink it the better the results, though some people question whether you should take it in early pregnancy.  Raspberry tea is NOT the same thing.  There are two brands that I know of, Yogi teas, and Traditional Medicinals, that make a raspberry leaf tea.  Also, almost all teas marketed specifically for pregnant women have red rasberry leaf in them.  You can also try nettle tea, as it has many of the same properties as red raspberry leaf.  Check this out if you are interested in reading about other's experiences with red raspberry leaf: http://www.mothering.com/discussions/showthread.php?t=347728

Good luck!