Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

help

Hello Ladies,

This is my first time on the site and i was hoping someone could help. I just had a period that ended on Saturday. I went to the doctor on Monday and to my surprise i am pregnant. i am really excited but the nurses freaked me out because they say it was bad i had my period. Has anyone had a similar experience? I would love some advise. Thank you.
2 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
Were you late starting this most recent period? Was your period as heavy as it usually is, or lighter and shorter?

I think your situation requires more time as it could go either way. I've known people (one being my mother) who had "periods" - lighter than normal spotting - throughout their pregnancies and had absolutely normal, healthy babies. I also know that you can test positive for a while after you miscarry because the hormone levels in your body have not come back down to a non-pregnant state.

I think it was wrong of the nurse to say it was "bad" that you had a period because of the anxiety that it creates for you, but I think that her intentions may have been to prepare you in case you may have had a false reading due to a miscarriage very early in the pregnancy - which may have been an ectopic one, even.

Maybe this article will help: http://www.*****************.org/gettingpregnant/pregnancyfaq.htm

Wish you the best!
Helpful - 0
I would get another dr! The nurse should of never told you that! SOme woman have a period the whole time the are pregnant. If it was a period and not bleeding then it is fine.