Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

I also was diagnosed with Cushings Disease

I was diagnosed with type one diabetes two or three years ago. At that time they said that I had Cushings Disease also. I need to find out any information on Cushings in adults I have looked and I find it is more common in dogs. Can someone please help me??

Thank you
3 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
Janie001 - I am by no means a medical professional, just the wife of a juvenile diabetic.  I did a little research on my own and I too found more information on Cushing's Disease in dogs.  I did, however, find some information on Cushing's syndrome on Mayoclinic.com that may be helpful to you.  Below is an overview.  

"Cushing's syndrome is a result of high levels of the hormone cortisol.  This can occur when the adrenal glands make too much cortisol or more commonly, it can be the result of prolonged use of high doses of cortisol-like medications that are used as a treatment for various acute and chronic illnesses such as asthma and arthritis.  
Some signs and symptoms of Cushing's syndrome are a fatty hump between your shoulders, a rounded face, and pink or purple stretch marks on your skin.  It can also result in high blood pressure, bone loss, and on occasion, diabetes.
There are treatments for Cushing's syndrome designed to return your body's cortisol production to normal.  By lowering your cortisol levels, you will experience noticeable improvements in your symptoms.  If left untreated, Cushing's syndrome can eventually lead to death.