Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

Can one with HSV2 really give/receive unprotected oral sex?

Dear Dr. HHH:

This forum is a breath of fresh air.  Thank you in advance.

One night twenty years ago, I lost my virginity and acquired herpes in the same night.  I met an incredible man who accepted me having herpes and we have been married 16 years and have two beautiful boys which I delivered vaginally.  I have had minimal outbreaks, probably a total of 7-10 in 20 years.  I have read, endlessly, on this site that transmitting herpes from genital to oral is very low or none at all.  I have turned down my husband endlessly on performing oral sex on me and outside of an experimental time with dental dams, that was it.  I was too worried that he would get oral herpes and then pass on to the children.  

I am a registered nurse and wouldn
5 Responses
Sort by: Helpful Oldest Newest
239123 tn?1267647614
MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL
Boy, there is a lot here, by your overt questions and by implication.  It does seem you have let herpes rule your life far more than you should have.

Certainly genital to oral transmission of HSV-2 can occur.  But as you have read, it is much less common than genital-genital transmission, and yes, the virus really does 'favor' specific body sites.  I'm sorry you spent so many of your sexually active years apparently foregoing a potentially satisfying sexual outlet.  In my opinion, herpes simply isn't important enough to allow it to have such an impact on sexual satisfaction. Condoms always?  No oral sex?  Herpes isn't that big a deal!  What would have been the problem if your husband had acquired HSV, either oral or genital?  Like you, he might have had a minimally symptomatic infection with few or no recurrences; and if he developed a significantly symptomatic infection, he could have been effectively and safely treated to control it.