Diabetes - Type 1 Community
Diabetes and Social Security Disability
About This Community:

This patient support community is for questions related to juvenile diabetes including Celiac disease, depression, diabetic complications, hyperglycemia / diabetic keto-acidosis, hypoglycemia, islet cell transplantation, nutrition, parenting a diabetic child, pregnancy, pump therapy, school issues, and teens with diabetes.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Diabetes and Social Security Disability

I have been a Type 1 (juv. diabetic) for 25 years & have done well with it.  I was a sales manager for various TV stations across the US.  I decided to quit the rat race 3 years ago, move home and start a licensed childcare center.  Last February I suffered heart failure and at the same time was diagnosed with high blood pressure and high cholesterol.  The meds the heart doctor & internist have me on (Altace, Lipitor, Spironolact, Furesemide, Coreg) all mask the warning signs of an insulin reaction.  My blood sugar can go down to the 30-40 range and I won't know I'm having a reaction until I start sweating profusely.  The children I'm watching have had to feed me OJ, Glucose tablets, PB&J's to get me out of the insulin reaction on more than one occasion.  The pills make me dizzy & lightheaded -- I've knocked over more than one child because I can't keep my balance.  Because of the heart disease (side affect of the diabetes) I can't even pick up the little ones or their heavy toys.  I'm wiped out.  I've recently applied for Social Security Disability.  Do you think my application will be approved.  I'm financially wiped out with all the medical bills and co-pays on the meds (My monthly co-pay is about $250).  Is there any direction you can give me?
Related Discussions