Divorce & Breakups Community
Divorce or no
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to divorce, breakups, anger, child custody, child support, conflict resolution, co-parenting, dating, depression, friends and family, legal, pets, property issues, remarriage, spousal support, and visitation.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Divorce or no

My wife and I have been married 3 yrs.  We are 51 and 56 yrs. old and are both artsy people in the teaching profession.  I am a musician, and my wife is heavily involved in crafting and theater choreography.  

I am retired and therefore take on the tasks of all the household issues, including taking care of our pets, cleaning, maintaining the yard, pool, & hot tub, grocery shopping, etc.  I have also tried my very best to try and give her gifts that I feel encompass our love for arts & crafts, both at Christmas and more recently for Valentine's Day.  Over the past three months, I have spent hours and hours and much of my own money scouring antique stores, art shops, and thrift stores to try and find her great gifts that reflect both our interests, but she rejected all of them, albeit in a kind way, but it has been hurtful to me.  Also, she spent hours making beautiful crafts as gifts for her friends and collegeaues.  I hoped to received a gift like this as well, but I did not, and it really hurt.

The bottom line is that I do not feel loved, cherished, or appreciated by my wife.  At this point, I just don't want to try anymore.  I feel it is a waste of my time, money, and love for this person.

Am I out of line somehow?  What should I do?

5 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
973741_tn?1342346373
Hi there and welcome.  Well, it is hard once someone says that they don't want to try anymore as you've said.  Hard to do much if that is really how you feel.