Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Community
LGSIL, high risk hpv...now what?!
About This Community:

This forum is an un-mediated, patient-to-patient forum for questions and support regarding HPV issues such as: genital warts, causes, diagnosis, cervical cancer, HPV in men, PAP tests, treatment, telling your spouse or partner

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

LGSIL, high risk hpv...now what?!

I'm new to this, so I'll lay out my story and ALL my questions ugh.....sorry for the length in advance..

I am 27, had an abnormal pap a year ago, came back LGSIL, confirmed LGSIL thru colposcopy and biopsy (she only saw one leision and thought she could just get it all with the biopsy of it). I was diagnosed with one of the high risk HPV types as well.   I've had 2 follow-up paps so far of the 3 I am supposed to get, both about 5 mo apart.  both have come back normal.  I've recently freaked myself out of control due to a woman I know who was diagnosed with aggressive cervical cancer and in a matter of less than a year has had it spread throughout her entire body :( :(

I have several questions as I try to get through all this and come to terms with the fact that I have this High Risk HPV virus.  

1) even though Ive had 2 normal paps, could they have missed more leisons or cells?? perhaps the pap didnt scrape the right area or something?
2) once I do have this 3rd pap in 5 more months, I have been told to then just get them annually.  but since i have high risk hpv, should I ask to get paps every 6 months instead? to catch the precancerous cells early enough?
3) I know this high risk hpv wont go away, and I have it for life, but what are the chances that Im going to get cervical cancer down the road? I feel like ive sealed my fate and know that that's the way im going to go :(