Aa
A
A
Close
Fizzing sound in neck
Hi, for about a year now i have had this fizzing sound in my neck that occurs randomly, usually when i am just laying down. It doesnt occur when i am moving my head or anything, its usually just when i sitting still or laying down. It sounds like it is coming directly from the back of my neck and is starting to worry me. I also experience these weird pains in my head that come for about a second and then go and come back again every 10minutes or so. These pains are in 1 area in the back of my head in about a 1 square inch area.. Any ideas???
Cancel
380 Answers
Page 19 of 19
First of all, this is a normal phenomenon, so, all the hypochondriacs need to go find another topic.  I have experienced this all my life, especially as a teen ager and young adult, when I suffered from eating disorders.  The crystalline sound/sensation was something I tried to achieve.  It occurs when you are hungry, and while I am no scientist, I suspect it is related to the function of the Lateral Hypothalmus, which signals your brain that you are hungry by firing neuron pulses.  Neurologists will argue about whether or not you can actually hear neurons "firing", but it is my theory that is precisely what you are hearing.  I also think it is more a sensation than it is sound, but our brains interpret it as sound.  I do know that there have been studies conducted where the firing of neurons is amplified and can be heard in that state.  Given this information I believe it is entirely within the realm of possibility that we not only feel those tiny electrical impulses, but given the proximity to the origin, hear them as well.
Comment
Cancel
Comment
Comment
Comment
Comment
Post Comment