Aa
A
A
A
Close
Smoking Addiction Community
1.25k Members

Depression Symptoms?

Hello all.  I am a member of the Addiction/Substance Abuse forum who is two months clean from the Percoset I had to take after a serious arm surgery.  The road back to mental health after the withdrawl has been long and hard.  I am finally getting comforatable in my head again.  I am now ready to take the next step and get off the cigarettes.  I have been smoking a little less than a pack a day for almost 10 years.  

The anxiety and depression was wicked and downright scary at times when I got off the medication.  Any advice about what to expect with smoking cessation would be great.  What was the overall effect on mental health?  

Thanks!

Matt
23 Responses
326505 tn?1304172825
Hi Matt and congrats on your percoset quit! Now that you have the mindset of a quitter it just may be helpful here.

In retrospect, there is a wonderful website, whyquit.com thst supports a cold turkey quit, but you can use a NRT and still acess the articles there. Look under "Education" column.

For me, reading these articles were what got me through some really tough times. As you begin your quit, the physical withdrawals will last about 72 hours. Everyones 3 days are different but I think we will all agree that it's difficult. It's what comes afterward that is the hardest part and that is where those articles come in handy. If you educate yourself as to WHY you smoke, then your fight gets a little easier.

Most of us here admit that long after the withdrawals are over it's the emotional addiction that we are truly fighting. Anxiety/depression seem to be everyones underlying problem and somehow we have confused a cig as the answer to all our problems. This is a behavior that has to be "unlearned."

Support is very important as you probably know from your other quit. We here are at different stages of our quit but we are a good bunch : ) We will be here when you are ready.
Kathy Jo
---