Breastfeeding Community
Blisters on nipple
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, breast and nipple care, feeding techniques, inadequate milk supply, nutrition, proper baby positioning, and work and travel issues.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Blisters on nipple

Anybody experincing recurring blisters on nipple?  I've been nursing for two months now and I already got them once on the right nipple and twice on the left one.  A part for them being painful, they plug the milk ducts and my baby seems to have trouble feeding.

Also, my baby is still nursing every two hours during the day (3-4.5 hours at night) and he nurses for about 30 min to 1 hour.  I give him both the breast since I'm worried he is not taking enough since he's nursing so often.  My peditrician suggested to substitute a feeding with formula to help him go longer in between fieedings. He thinks my breast are not producing enough and therefore he's only taking snacks.  However, I fear my breasts are going to get too full; that happens during the night if occasionally he goes 5 hours.  My baby has always been very active and rarely sleeps during the day, so I think that may be one of the reasons for which he feeds often...
Any suggestions?
Thanks a lot!  
Related Discussions
9 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
93532_tn?1349374050
Don't get let your doc convince you your supply is not enough, it is extremely common to have a baby nurse that often. Unless your baby is losing weight or dehydrated there should be no need to supplement.

Blank
Thanks Andi.  The more I read about breastfeeding the more his advice does not sound right.  I keep reading the more you nurse the more milk you produce and therefore does not make sense to go longer between feedings (by using formula) to make my breasts fuller.