Dermatology Community
Trust me on this one...
About This Community:

This forum is for questions regarding Dermatology issues, such as: rashes, acne, birthmarks, skin infections, rosacea, and general skin care.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Trust me on this one...

I am a physician assistant and finishing medical school now and have been through too many physiology classes to talk about it.  I have practiced medicine since 2001 in all types of surgery including general and vascular.  I have the itchy leg thing after showers and at night and worse in winter and I can tell you what it is...  This is primarily related to vasodilation of the superficial vessels(near the skin in common terms).  Yes prostacyclin induced histamine release may play a role but to speak plainly... keep your legs away from heat and anything else that dilates skin vessels(ie heating blankets, too many blankets)  Alcohol can also induce a peripheral vasodilation that causes similar symptoms.  If you want to test my theory go out in the winter and let your feet get really cold (ie skiing, sled riding-try not to get frostbite...that will make this sound like a really bad experiment)  When you come in the house put your feet under warm bathwater before giving them a good chance to acclimate...if this induces the symptoms thats probably all it is.  Some of you may have other things going on but this may just be your body responding in a normal physiologic way to an environmental stimulus(the skin is supposed to vasodilate in response to heat because it helps to keep your core body temperature from going too high by releasing heat through the skin .  Just like when it is cold out and your vessels in the hands vasoconstrict to prevent heat loss from the core.  

This discussion is related to Itchy legs, no sign of rash or irritation.
Related Discussions
41 Comments Post a Comment
Blank