HIV Prevention Community
I feel Infected
About This Community:

If you believe you have been exposed to HIV and want help to judge your risk, would like advice about HIV testing, or have questions about the effectiveness of condoms or risks associated with specific sexual practices, this is the site for you.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

I feel Infected

My story goes something like this: After I graduated high school around a year and a half ago, I drank a heavy amount of alcohol. My judgement was affected and I had unprotected sex with a female friend for roughly 25 minutes. Her sexual status was and still is unknown to me.

For the past year and a half I have been living sick. Eeryday I feel sick.
Symptoms: Night sweats, Aches, burning sensation, fatigue, and over all I just feel awful.

Three months after the sexual encounter I got tested foe HIV. The test came back negative. This allowed for some peace of mind even though symptoms did not disappear. I still felt awful.

Three months later I decided to get tested once again. Again this test came back negative. So I tested negative at six months as well. But still all symptoms remained. I still felt sick. And I still feel sick now. When I thought I did not have HIV I went to my doctor and had a series of other blood work done. Nothing seemed to show up.

I have not been tested in roughly a year. But the symptoms and the way I feel does not allow me to forget the notion that I could be infected with HIV. I do not want to be the one who hits the HIV lottery. Information I read seems to be misleading. Some research suggests is symptoms appear six months after encounter, that you should get tested at a year. Other research says no one has ever taken longer than 6 months to test positive.