Maternal & Child Community
Fifths Disease
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Fifths Disease

Hi everyone, I just wanted to know if anyone has had a m/c due to being exposed to Fifths Disease. I am a teacher and was exposed to a student who had Fifths Disease. She is in my class and I held her hand throughout the week (she was a line leader). I have a d&c scheduled for tues, when i will ask them to check my blood to see if i am immune to the virus. If I am, I think there may be a possibilty I had a m/c due to the virus. There is no way of telling when I had the virus if it shows up that I am immune. It could have been the week I had m/c.
I had an u/s done the week before the child had a rash on her face and there was a hb. A week later, there was no h/b and my student came in the next day with a rash on her cheeks.
This is my second m/c in the past few months and the tissue will be tested, as well as blood work to determine if something is wrong. However, a family member who works in a school told me that in her district, when a child may have Fifths, all pregnant employees are immediately sent home. I was only 6 weeks at time I was exposed, which I have read can be dangerous and cause m/c's.
Related Discussions
8 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
102086_tn?1190513046
My son had fifths desiese and the Dr. told me to make sure he was not around any pregnant women because it can hurt the baby.  Not sure what it does to it, the Dr. didn't elaborate.  All he said was not to let him be around pregnant women and that he could have it for up to a month.
Blank
thanks for responding. i guess part of the problem is by the time a rash appears, the contagious period had passed.
Blank