Maternal & Child Community
Five week ultrasound - no fetus - is this normal?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Five week ultrasound - no fetus - is this normal?

Hi, this is my first time on this forum. I am 6 weeks pregnant and last week I had an ultrasound (vaginal). My doctor just wanted to make sure all was well since I had some minor brown spotting before I knew I was pregant (thought A/F was on the way). The tech was able to see a gest. sac but no fetus, she said it was too early. Now my dr. has seen my results and wants me to get another ultrasound done ASAP. What does this mean, is is normal not see a fetus at 5 weeks (it done at 5 weeks and 1 day). This is my first pregnancy and I'm worried. Thanks!
Related Discussions
107 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
Yes, you are just early on, another week or more will yeild much better results on a vaginal u/s.

Congrats!!

Amanda
Blank
Thank you so much! You guys are awesome, I'm so glad I found this website!
Blank
I had an ultrasound done 03/14/06 and they saw the gest sac and yolk and measured to be about 5w6d and I am scheduled tomorrow for them to look for fetus so dont worry I believe you are just too early.
Blank
Yep!! Everything sounds normal. I had my 1st u/s at 5wks 2days and there was nothing but a sac with a little black hole in the middle. I go for another one tommorow at 7wks 2days and we should be able to see the little heart beat. Congratulations!!
Blank
118074_tn?1228332603
We only saw a yolk sac when I was a littel over 5 weeks.  It's normal.  Do you have another U/S scheduled?
Blank