Maternal & Child Community
Generic Baby Formula vs. Name Brand
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Generic Baby Formula vs. Name Brand

Hi!  I have been breastfeeding my dd for 3 months now.  I will be going back to work at the end of August and will not be able to pump at work.  :(  I looked at formula yesterday at the store and was SHOCKED to see the HUGE price difference between generic and name brand formula!  There was $10 difference per can!  That really adds up!  Does anyone have any experience with the generic formula?  I know it all has to be regulated by the FDA, so is generic the obvious choice??

Any opinions, personal experiences, advice would be great!
Amy

PS - I have been feeding my dd a formula bottle every once in a while to get her used to it and she hasn't had any problems with either Enfamil or Similac so I don't think she's picky or has any special health concerns.
Related Discussions
32 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
Why can you pump at work???  I know in our State it's the law they have to provide you with a private place to pump your milk at.  You might want to check the laws in your state, if it's the workplace giving you the problem.
Blank
93532_tn?1349374050
I have never formula fed, but my friend and her dh just ran into this issue. She ALWAYS buy Enfamil LIPIL, well her dh picked up formula one day, saw the price difference and bought the off brand stuff, her son suffered!! Gassy baby, explosive poop, etc and he was 9 mos at this time.

Everyone will have different experiences, but don't buy a big can of any off brand just in case.

Andi
Blank