Maternal & Child Community
Possibility of carrying baby after hysterectomy
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Possibility of carrying baby after hysterectomy

I had a partial hysterectomy in 1993 and still have both ovaries.  My husband and I were interested in having another child, and wondered where to begin as far as the possibility of this happening.  If it is possible to carry a baby, would I be able to use my own eggs, or do I even produce eggs anymore?  Also, I am 47 years old.  We have 5 children, the youngest being 11 years old.  Thank you for any information.
Related Discussions
8 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
I am not a doctor but this is what I assume to be true:
1) If you do not have a uterus you cannot carry the baby yourself.
2) The last I read said that doctors will not use the eggs of a woman over 40-45. I don't even know if your eggs would be viable at the age that you are.

But there are many other options-- including adoption or surragacy. Obviously in-vitro wouldn't work for you if you don't have a uterus. Good luck!
Blank
My question is WHY???..lol

You have five children enjoy them!!
Sorry but at 47 you are considered old for child rearing, My last was at 37,
Your chances of birth defects increase as you age (a chance I would not knowingly take)
If your youngest one is 11 enjoy the time-- soon grandkids will be here and the best part you can send them home!!..lol
Blank
1)  If you have not started menopause yet, then you still produce eggs, but not sure of "quality" of eggs.

2)  I'm not sure what parts are removed in a "partial" hyst., but if you don't have a complete intact uterus then you cannot carry a pregnancy.