Maternal & Child Community
Pregnancy discrimination?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to breast feeding, childhood disease, colic, child discipline, immunization, lactation, newborn care, post partum depression, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), and special needs children.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Pregnancy discrimination?

Hi everyone.  I would like to hear everyone's view on pregnancy today, and if everyone thinks discrimination against pregnant women occurs.  I am a grad student, and I have had nothing but trouble since I told everyone that I was pregnant.  I know professors talk behind my back about whether or not this pregnancy was affected my performance in the program, I was even told that I should take a medical leave this semester until the baby is born.  I am a stipend student with paid health insurance through the college, if I go on medical, I lose all this.  This is how I support myself, no one is going to hire a women who is 6 months pregnant, how am I going to pay for insurance?  My dh is laid off, and job prospects do not look good.  This pregnancy has had minimal impact on my performance, grant it, it has been a rough pregnancy, but I have fulfilled the requirements of the program.  I feel as though the college looks down on me because of my pregnancy, I feel that this is unfair, because ultimately, women are put on this earth to have children, why can I not be a doctor and a mother?  Thank you.  
Related Discussions
8 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
172023_tn?1334675884
Well, while I do not agree that the ultimate purpose of women is to have children, the college professors should not be treating you this way.

Speak to each of them independently and tell them how you feel.  Its the adult thing to do.  Let them know that they are discouraging you with their "opinions" and to knock it off pronto.

Blank
224208_tn?1210288173