Thyroid Disorders Community
Gaining weight?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to thyroid issues, goiter, Graves disease, Hashimoto's Thyroiditis, Human Growth Hormone (HGH), hyperthyroid, hypothyroid, metabolism, parathyroid, pituitary gland, thyroiditis, and thyroid Stimulating Hormone (TSH).

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Gaining weight?

If you take thyroid meds without a thyroid problem will you lose weight. I have been to a diet doctor that gave me a prescription for adipex and synthroid 100mcg. I get the adipex; but don't get the thyroid. I have had my thyroid checked it checked out fine. How does this work? I thought the more thyroid you had in your system the less t3 and t4 you would have which would slow your metabolism.
Related Discussions
6 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
I'm no medical professional, but I would seriously find another doctor to help you lose weight. What do you mean by "diet doctor?" Are you seeing a doctor who specializes in bariatric medicine, or someone who just says "this will help?"   Have you asked why you have been given this combination and exactly what it is supposed to achieve? As someone on 100mcg of synthroid for Hashimoto's disease, I can tell you that I have many times seen the warning that Sythroid should NOT be used for weight loss reliance. And adipex has its own side effect problems. Please be sure you are confident in this doctor's ability to help you or seek a second opinion. Taking 100mcg on a perfectly normal thyroid is, to me, absurd.
Blank
Some people gain weight on synthroid, as I did. 10 pounds in one month, as it increases your
appetite like crazy.
Blank
Thyroid meds. are not diet pills nor are they made to take as diet pills.  If you think this and act upon it, you are headed for trouble.  Serious health.  

If this were true, we'd all, hypos - hypers, be thin and without weight gain complaints.