Urology Expert Forum
treatment for infant penile adhesions after circumcision
About This Forum:

Questions in the Urology forum are answered by medical professionals at Healthcare Magic. Topics covered include benign prostate disease, penis curvature, cystisis, kidney stones, pediatric urology, prostate, sexual dysfunction, urinary tract infections (UTI), and urological cancers.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

treatment for infant penile adhesions after circumcision

I am a nurse practitioner and have been aware of the controversy of opeinng penile adhesions that occure after a circumcision  in the office for a long time. I recently saw a child who had had this done a few days before and had a very irritated penis and the foreskin had reattached itself. What is the current feeling among pediatric urologists about this subject ? I usually tell parents the foreskin will take care of itself. am I incorrect ?  Thanks
Related Discussions
438205_tn?1240962949
Uncircumcised penises usually "take care of themselves" and do not need the foreskin retracted until puberty. At puberty and beyond, on a daily basis the foreskin needs to be retracted and washed  and then pulled back down.