Aa
A
A
A
Close
Depression/Mental Health Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

effexor uncertainty

I have been using effexor for only 5 months but had a mixture of feelings from using this drug.  first, I felt less anxious and didn't feel like crying all the time.  But on the other hand I felt numb, tired (yawning) all the time, nauseous, and a little unconcerned with things I should be.  Now I have found I am pregnant and just stopped taking E for concern of the effects it would have on my unborn child.  the withdrawl is very uncomfortable (extreme headaches, dizziness, trouble seeing clearly outside, everything seems to be whizzing by, and I have slight brain buzz).  I can handle this and I am not too concerned as I did not take it that long.  i am worried about my husband.  Since starting effexor eight months ago he has increased his drinking to the point it has become a major problem (when part of the reason for taking an anti-depressant was to help with some of his symptoms of quiting drinking...he had been sober for four months when he started) and has begun taking pain killers so that he can feel "normal" and he is very concerned about the withdrawls of effexor since he is already feeling "strange" due to taking the drug.  It has helped his mood and his ability to handle stress but it seems that it effects on his drinking are ten times as bad as before.  So short question REALLY long what are the effects of this drug on alcohol or someone who has a drinking problem and is there any kind of encouragment for someone that is scared of the withdrawl symptoms. Also, are there any anti-depressants that might help not hurt someone with a drinking problem?
4 Responses
242532 tn?1269553979
MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL