ADDICTION: SOCIAL
COMMUNITY
Does weaning off of Norco/Vicodin work??
by tired5, Jan 07, 2008
I am new to all of this, I took Vicodin for a while for knee surgeries.  4 in 3 years.  I am completely fine now, I mean that I have no pain.  However, I do have a 10-12 pill a day Norco habit.  I have convinced myself many times that I can wean myself off of the meds.  Does this work.  I am thinking about getting some more to try and wean myself off.  I had 4 Vicodin this morning @ 730 and I have had nothing else all day except Motrin.  It is now 450am and I have been awake since 2am.  I feel restless as hell, I can not relax.  I am scared.  I don't know if I can do this.  Can I wean myself, does cold turkey work better.  I have children to take care of, I go to school part time, I need to be available during the day.  Please help I am feeling so helpless and tired.  I am also on Wellbutrin for adult ADD.  However, it is not helping with the quitting of the painkillers.  Thank you for any help that you can offer.
Related Discussions
Member Comments (33)
306867_tn?1299253309
by allaboutmary, Jan 07, 2008
You can taper off , but it takes alot of self control. There should be others that will reply with some good taper plans.  I am a cold turkey girl.  If you decide to go cold turkey. You will feel like you have a very bad flu for about 5 days. Keep reading and posting on this forum. We all have the same problem so you are not alone. We will be here to help you thorugh this.   Mary
352798_tn?1399301754
by GoingToMakeIt, Jan 07, 2008
Welcome! Tapering is possible if you have the self control to do it.
May I suggest you post this over on the Substance Abuse Forum.
This forum is much slower than the other one and is for general discussions. Near the top there is a link in blue.
by 1eagle, Jan 08, 2008